The Monday Snapshot – First Day of School Edition

Firstly, I wanted to thank you all so so much for your comments on my last post about daycare. As always, you ladies came through with your amazing support, assurances, tips and so on. I keep meaning to reply to all of your comments but I really thank you every one who took the time to comment and share their experiences or feelings on this. Those of you who have had children in daycare now or in the past really made me see how beneficial this will be for so many reasons and that my worries are valid but not enough to stop us from doing this. And those of you who are in similar situations and have yet to send your children to daycare… I’ll let you know how it goes! 😉 Because yep, we’re going through with it… well we went through with it. Eeek.

I am currently sitting at home (where I work.. I’m not just dropping her at daycare to sit at home!) while she is no where in sight because she is at her first day of daycare. It was a tough morning for Mama.. but not so much for her (that I know of so far). I managed to hold back tears after dropping her off (and waiting with her for 30 minutes to get settled) and even held them back when she cried watching me walk out of the room.. but my gosh those tears wanted to come… okay, they still do… and still might. It feels so weird to be here without her but I know it will be good for both of us.

I will update at the end of the week on how Lids did at daycare and how I did without her. We just plan to take her 2 or 3 mornings a week but I haven’t decided which yet. The daycare is very flexible about that I can just pick and choose each week depending on my work and interview schedule.

And now I must use my babytoddler-less time wisely and get to work!!!! Here are some photos of Lids on her first day of school/daycare as part of PAIL’s Monday Snapshot.first day of school 1

first day of school 2

21 responses

  1. Oh…my…goodness. Could she be any cuter? That backpack is as big as she is, but she looks so sweet and grown-up. And that picture of her sitting with that older girl just breaks my heart! How brave she’s being!

  2. Just picturing you walking away makes me choke up, hugs! I hope you are feeling super productive and that Lids is having an absolute blast with all her new friends and toys! I think this will be a really good thing for everyone 🙂 I think I need to go buy B a backpack just to try to take a picture as cute as that one.

  3. I LOVE babies in backpacks. That is the cutest thing ever!! Please keep us updated. I know it won’t be long before she looks forwards to playing with friends.

    Tay loves Mondays b/c she sees her friends after three days (she goes to school M-Th). This morning, as she walked into her classroom, she waved hi to her friends and a few clapped to see her. Melts my heart!

  4. She is sooo darn precious! I hope you both had a great first day and my heart broke when you wrote that she started crying and you were holding back tears too. SO SO difficult! I bet after a few days, she won’t even remember you left! Can’t wait to here how the rest of her day went!

  5. She looks so grown up with her backpack on! And look at how big her smile is! I’m sure you guys will be happy with the decision you made to put her in daycare a few mornings a week, and you’ll probably get SO much done during that time.

  6. Oh my gosh. She looks too big with her backpack on! I can’t take it! I am glad you decided to go for it. I know it will be great for you both.

    I read your last post but never got a chance to comment (for some reason I can’t comment from my phone…UGH). I am starting to look into the same type of thing for Blakely starting this spring or summer. I just think she needs some play time around other kids. The gym I go to has a small daycare so you can bring you child there while you work out (2 hours max although I rarely work out longer than an hour). Blakely absolutely loves playing with the kids when we go about 2-3 times a week. She doesn’t usually want to leave so I know she would do great but it is still so hard to think about leaving her somewhere! I can’t wait to hear how great Lids does at daycare and maybe that will give me the push I need to get B more involved! It was also great to read all of the advice and help your readers had.

    Again, so grown up in that picture….

  7. What a big kid! I love love love that shot of her with the backpack. It’s such a symbolic “getting older” moment, the backpack shot; that prop really ages them. Definitely let us know how your week went and how you managed (since we know she’ll be fine, this is really more about mama adjusting) ❤

  8. omygosh, how cute is she with her lil back pack? I hope that she had a great time at daycare this week and you got a lot accomplished. I’m considering putting L in a sort of preschool next year because I think it would be beneficial for him to be exposed to that setting.

I love to hear from you! Please leave a comment...

